Member Highlights

Dr. Christine Branche

Dr. Christine Branche (BA in Biology, MSPH and PhD in Epidemiology) is the current Principal Associate Director and Director of the Office of Construction Safety and Health of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Her father, also a PhD scientist who worked for the federal government, instilled a love of science in her at an early age. A biology course in population genetics and participating in a community health practicum solidified her interest in getting a PhD in epidemiology.

Dr. Jennifer Gander

Through her graduate work at the University of South Carolina and postdoctoral work at Emory University, Dr. Jennifer Gander recognized her basic interest was focused on improving healthcare access for vulnerable patient populations while building on her experience with predictive model analysis and translating statistically-based results to a patient’s bedside.

Dr. Melissa L. Bondy, FACE

As Professor and Associate Director for the Dan L. Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center at the Baylor College of Medicine, Dr. Melissa L. Bondy is internationally renowned for her epidemiological research on glioma and breast cancer.

Dr. Elizabeth T. H. “Terry” Fontham

A Founding Dean and Emeritus Professor of Epidemiology at Louisiana State University School of Public Health-New Orleans, having served on faculty since 1980. Despite being officially “retired”, her colleagues notice little difference in her schedule! Terry can be found in her office working on issues she enjoys nearly 40 hours per week!

Dr. Alberto J. Caban-Martinez

Dr. Caban-Martinez is an osteopath and board certified in public health, completed the Master of Public Health (Epidemiology) program at Nova Southeastern University in 2004, and received his Doctorate in Epidemiology from the University of Miami in May 2011. He recently completed a NIAMS-funded Clinical Orthopedic and Musculoskeletal Education and Training (COMET) Program fellowship at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

Dr. Shervin Assari

From 2013 to 2015, Dr. Shervin Assari has served on the Board of Directors (BOD) of the American College of Epidemiology as the Associate Director. The Associate Director position is designed to increase Associate Members involvement in the College leadership and service activities.

Dr. Diana Bensyl

The Ebola epidemic was initially announced on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) website on March 25, 2014. Since then, over 15,000 cases of Ebola have been reported in West Africa. One program within the CDC, the Epidemic Intelligence Service (EIS), has been assisting with the Ebola outbreak effort in West Africa .

Dr. Steven J. Jacobsen

The Board of Directors for the American College of Epidemiology is made up of 5 officers and 14 additional board members. One of the distinguished board members is Dr. Steven J. Jacobsen, Senior Director of Research at Kaiser Permanente Southern California.

Dr. Bertha Hidalgo

Dr. Bertha Hidalgo, currently an Associate Member, has participated in a variety of positions throughout the College during her 4 years of membership. Motivated by her connections with other members of the College, including Dr. Jan Eberth, Dr. Alberto Caban-Martinez and Dr. Joe Holbrook, she has served as the Chair of the Associate Member committee, as an ACE Board Member and currently serves as the vice-chair of the Minority Affairs committee.

Dr. Michael B. Bracken

Every year at the American College of Epidemiology Annual Meeting, one distinguished epidemiologist is selected to receive the Abraham Lilienfeld award. This year, Dr. Michael B. Bracken received this illustrious award.

Dr. Ross Brownson

Dr. Ross Brownson taking over as President after serving for one year as President-Elect. He initially decided to join ACE and become involved in its leadership because, “I have always had a close connection to the make-up and mission of ACE, particularly because ACE covers a variety of settings and draws in people with diverse backgrounds."

Dr. Betsy Foxman

Dr. Betsy Foxman is one of those epidemiologists that you can say with certainty has served the epidemiology community well. She was the Chair of the Epidemiology Section in the American Public Health Association (2000-2001), the Founder and Chair of the Epidemiology Society Leadership Group (2001-2007), President of the American College of Epidemiology (2005-2006), and Program Chair for the 2006 Congress of Epidemiology among many other service roles.

Dr. Donna K. Arnett

On July 1, 2012, Dr. Donna K. Arnett began her one year term as president of the American Heart Association (AHA), the first time an epidemiologist was selected for the position. Dr. Arnett is the chair of the Department of Epidemiology in the School of Public Health at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

Dr. Victor M. Cardenas

Dr. Cardenas, an Associate Professor in the Division of Epidemiology at the University of Texas-Health Science Center at Houston School of Public Health on the El Paso campus, became a fellow in 2006 and served on the Board of Directors from 2009 to 2011.