Associate Members

About the Committee

The American College of Epidemiology’s Associate Membership is comprised of a heterogeneous group of individuals training to become epidemiologists including persons with a Master’s degree and field experience in epidemiology work, doctoral students, postdocs, and junior faculty members. All Associate Members in good standing are members of the Associate Member Committee. The Associate Member Committee is charged with leading the development, implementation, and progression of tasks and activities that promote the involvement of Associate Members within the College. This includes events at the annual meeting as well as ongoing activities throughout the year.

One ACE Fellow, appointed by the current ACE President, serves as Advisor to the Associate Member Committee. Two Associate Members are included as part of the ACE Board of Directors: the Outgoing Associate Director (Chair) and Incoming Associate Director (Vice-Chair). Other leadership positions include Secretary, National Journal Club Coordinator, and Annual Survey Director. Liaisons are in place to communicate between the Associate Member Committee and other ACE standing committees as a way to develop and improve Associate Member involvement and opportunities within the College.

Committee Members

  • Tamala Gondwe, Chair (2019)
  • Alireza Asary Yazdi, Policy Committee Liaison (2019)
  • Deven Patel (2020)
  • Cathy Critchlow, Christine Branche, James Gurney, Robert Morgan, Alfred Rimm,and Patrick Tarwater, Advisors
  • Phani Veeranki, Minority Affairs Committee Liaison, ACE Quarterly Newsletter Assistant


  1. Increase ACE Associate Membership and active participation of Associate Membership in the college
  2. Increase Associate Member attendance to the ACE Annual Meeting
  3. Plan and implement the Annual Associate Member Survey (contact Sophia Allen, ACE Annual Survey Director for more information)
  4. Facilitate travel scholarships to the ACE Annual Meeting through committee sponsored activities. This year, top student abstract authors were offered partial scholarships to attend the annual meeting.
  5. Maintain a listserv that connects Associate Members with newly available post-doctoral and junior faculty positions (launched in December 2011). The committee is currently seeking a Listserv Director who will manage this effort.

New Initiatives

  1. Develop programs for the Associate Members of the college, such as the National Epidemiology Journal Club
  2. Develop and/or contribute to the social media presence of the college (e.g., LinkedIn, Facebook)
  3. Finalize and distribute recruitment materials to Schools of Public Health and other epidemiology departments across North America
  4. Develop the ‘Campus Liaison Program’ in which there will be an Associate Member liaison within each epidemiologic school and training program in North America

Associate Member Committee Materials